About the MEM

The Centre d’histoire de Montréal has transformed into the MEM – Centre des mémoires montréalaises, a new museum and civic space.

Montrealers recount the city’s history

The MEM – Centre des mémoires montréalaises mobilizes Montreal’s inhabitants, who in turn help highlight the value of the city’s plural identities. We collect and present first-hand accounts from a range of communities to tell the history of Montreal.

To carry out its mission, the MEM prioritizes citizens’ voices, past and present. We capture the essence of “Montreality” -- the many different facets of the city in all their diversity. Whether you hail from Montreal or have adopted the city as your own, you’re part of its history. The MEM wants to hear your voice and share your memories. We celebrate the pride of being a Montrealer with you and thanks to you!

Opening in 2022, but many MEM activities are already available online or near you in 2021!

In 2022, the MEM will welcome you at the corner of rue Sainte-Catherine and boulevard Saint-Laurent, in downtown Montreal. You’ll discover public spaces, exhibitions, a cabaret, a boutique-café, and various rental spaces available for use.

Until then, the MEM is carrying out activities in various Montreal neighbourhoods while gathering feedback from the population. There are also online activities ranging from podcasts to educational programs. And if you’re an avid shutterbug, check out our annual photo competition!

Our mission

Our mission is to encourage an appreciation for the diversity of Montrealers’ identities and their histories through authentic, inclusive human experiences in which citizens gather and tell their stories.

Our values

With openness and empathy, we place citizens’ voices at the heart of our actions. We are making the MEM accessible to everyone and are sensitive to Montreal’s diverse realities. We want to bring the city’s inhabitants together to share authentic local histories and foster collaborative, interactive, and innovative initiatives. We attach great importance to our environment and endeavour to facilitate responsible, sustainable cohabitation in our city.

Our commitment

The MEM team collaborates with the many voices of passionately committed citizens with the aim of building a cultural project that reflects Montreal’s diverse realities.

Our team

Annabelle Laliberté
Division Head

Catherine Charlebois
Section Director – Chief Curator
catherine.charlebois@montreal.ca

Laure Barrachina
Educational and Cultural Programs Officer
laure.barrachina@montreal.ca

Annick Brabant
Special Activity Director
Coordonator, You’re Part of History!
annick.brabant@montreal.ca

Marie-Anne Gagnon
Curator
marie-anne.gagnon@montreal.ca

André Gauvreau
Cultural Events Assistant - Communication
andre.gauvreau@montreal.ca

Miguel Landry
Technical Manager
miguel.landry@montreal.ca

Geneviève Larouche
Exhibition Manager
genevieve.larouche@montreal.ca

Josée Lefebvre
Coordinator, Citizen and Community Outreach
josee.lefebvre@montreal.ca

Valérie Menguy
Project Manager
valerie.menguy@montreal.ca

Stéphanie Mondor
Technical Manager – Production
stephanie.mondor@montreal.ca

Sophie Poirier
Cataloguer
sophie.poirier@montreal.ca

Lucie Pouliot
Secretary – Administrative Unit
lucie.pouliot@montreal.ca

Ophélie Raffin
Communications Officer
ophelie.raffin@montreal.ca

Linda Rougeau
Cultural Events Assistant
linda.rougeau@montreal.ca

Véronique Vigneault
Text Writing and Dissemination
veronique.vigneault@montreal.ca

Robert Tyler Wood
Special Activity Director
roberttyler.wood@montreal.ca

À propos

Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal se métamorphose en un nouvel espace muséal et citoyen : le MEM – Centre des mémoires montréalaises.

Raconter l’histoire grâce aux Montréalaises et aux Montréalais

Le MEM – Centre des mémoires montréalaises mobilise la population de Montréal afin qu’elle contribue à mettre en valeur les identités montréalaises. Il rassemble et valorise les témoignages des diverses communautés pour raconter l’histoire de la ville.

Pour réaliser sa mission, le MEM donne une place de choix aux voix citoyennes d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Il révèle la « montréalité », les différentes facettes montréalaises dans toute leur richesse. Que vous soyez originaire de Montréal ou que vous ayez adopté la ville, vous faites partie de son histoire. Le MEM veut vous entendre et partager votre mémoire. Il célèbre avec vous et grâce à vous la fierté d’être Montréalaise et Montréalais!

Une ouverture en 2022… mais des activités déjà disponibles en ligne et près de chez vous en 2021!

En 2022, Le MEM vous accueillera à l’angle des rues Sainte-Catherine et Saint-Laurent, au centre-ville de Montréal. Vous y retrouverez des espaces publics, des expositions, un cabaret, une boutique-café et aussi des espaces locatifs à votre disposition.

D’ici-là, le MEM se déploie à travers des activités présentées dans différents secteurs de Montréal et prend le pouls de la population. Plusieurs activités sont aussi accessibles en ligne, qu’il s'agisse de balados ou de programmes éducatifs. Avis aux photographes, consultez notre concours annuel!

Notre mission

Notre mission est de valoriser la diversité des identités montréalaises et de leurs histoires à travers des expériences humaines authentiques et inclusives, où les citoyen.nes se racontent et se rencontrent.

Nos valeurs

Nous plaçons la voix citoyenne au cœur de nos actions, en étant ouverts, à l’écoute et empathiques. Nous faisons du MEM un lieu accessible à tous, sensible aux diverses réalités de Montréal. Nous voulons rassembler la population montréalaise autour d’histoires authentiques et locales et valoriser les initiatives collaboratives, interactives et inédites. Nous accordons une grande place à notre environnement et nous souhaitons faciliter une cohabitation responsable et durable dans notre ville.

Notre engagement

Nous collaborons avec de multiples voix citoyennes passionnées et engagées, dans le but d’élaborer un projet culturel reflétant les diverses réalités montréalaises.

Notre équipe

Annabelle Laliberté
Cheffe de division

Catherine Charlebois
Chef de section – conservatrice en chef
catherine.charlebois@montreal.ca

Laure Barrachina
Agente de programmes éducatifs et culturels
laure.barrachina@montreal.ca

Annick Brabant
Animatrice spécialisée
Coordonnatrice du projet Vous faites partie de l’histoire!
annick.brabant@montreal.ca

Marie-Anne Gagnon
Conservatrice
marie-anne.gagnon@montreal.ca

André Gauvreau
Assistant aux événements culturels - communication
andre.gauvreau@montreal.ca

Geneviève Larouche
Responsable des expositions
genevieve.larouche@montreal.ca

Josée Lefebvre
Responsable des projets citoyens et communautaires
josee.lefebvre@montreal.ca

Raymond Ma
Régisseur
raymond.ma@montreal.ca

Valérie Menguy
Chargée de projet
valerie.menguy@montreal.ca

Stéphanie Mondor
Responsable technique – production
stephanie.mondor@montreal.ca

Sophie Poirier
Catalogueuse
sophie.poirier@montreal.ca

Lucie Pouliot
Secrétaire d'unité administrative
lucie.pouliot@montreal.ca

Ophélie Raffin
Chargée de communication
ophelie.raffin@montreal.ca

Linda Rougeau
Assistante aux événements culturels
linda.rougeau@montreal.ca

François Roy
Technicien de scène
francois.roy@montreal.ca

Robert Tyler Wood
Animateur spécialisé
roberttyler.wood@montreal.ca